Lorain County Rural Wastewater District

22898 West Rd. PO Box 158

Wellington Oh 44090

Lorain County (Eaton & Carlisle) billing questions – 440.933.6226

Cinnamon Lake billing questions – 419.945.2521


General Questions

Phone 440-647-4882 Fax 440-647-4870


Gene Toy Executive Director





About Us


General System Information


Meeting Calendar & Minutes


 Sanitary Sewer Use Regulations


LORCO Administrative Policy Section 102 (ADM 102) Amendment – Damage to System Components


Mission Statement


Members, Trustees & Directors


District Map


Proposed Project Map



Rural Wastewater District

est. 1997



Welcome to the Lorain County Rural Wastewater District (LORCO) website.


The initial formation of LORCO is a result of the collaboration of twelve Townships, three Villages and the Lorain County Commissioners. Its concept goes back to mid 1993 when the needs of central wastewater collection and treatment systems were perceived to be greater than ever. This isn’t the first time central sewer service has been discussed but rather with the sheer determination liken to the success of the Rural Lorain County Water Authority, this group of Township Trustees and Village Officials recognized the wisdom of pursuing a long term plan for this much needed utility in the rural unincorporated areas of Lorain County.


A committee of Township Trustees appointed by Richard Williams, President of the Lorain County Association of Township Trustees and Clerks, diligently worked through a needs assessment and feasibility study for more than a year, utilizing the services of GRW Engineers, Inc. who is the registered engineer for the RLCWA. The feasibility study proved the consensus that in some areas of rural Lorain County the wastewater service was not only needed but quite economically feasible.


With this information in hand and the commitment of the participating Townships and Villages, the application to form an Ohio Revised Code Chapter 6119 wastewater district was forwarded to the Lorain County Court of Common Pleas in December 1996. This same Committee chose John B. Albers II of Albers and Albers, Attorneys at Law, to represent them in this endeavor.


On February 4, 1997, Judge Lynett McGough, posted the order to create the LORCO Rural Wastewater District, with the business address of 22898 West Road, Wellington, Ohio 44090.   


The initial sixteen member LORCO board consisted of one representative from each of the following:  Amherst Township, Camden Township, Carlisle Township, Eaton Township, Elyria Township, Grafton Township, Henrietta Township, Huntington Township, LaGrange Township, New Russia Township, Pittsfield Township, Rochester Township, Wellington Township, South Amherst Village, Kipton Village and Rochester Village.

 In April 2017, the Lorain County Court of Common Pleas was petitioned to amend LORCO’s original 6119 district to include portions of Jackson Township, Ashland County and Congress Township, Wayne County to facilitate construction of an approximately 4.5 mile long force main to connect the gated community of Cinnamon Lake with the Village of West Salem wastewater treatment plant. This petition was granted by the court in June 2017.