MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING LORAIN COUNTY RURAL WASTEWATER DISTRICT MAY 13, 2010

Call to Order:

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Lorain County Rural Wastewater District was held at the LORCO offices, 22898 West Road, Wellington, Ohio. President McConnell called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. with the pledge of allegiance.

Oath of Office:

Attorney O'Toole administered the Oath of Office to James Woodrum of Camden Township, Richard Hutman of Eaton Township and Dominic Ferritto of Grafton Township. These terms will expire on March 27, 2013.

Trustees in Attendance:

Secretary-Treasurer Lahetta called the roll with the following trustees shown in attendance:

James McConnell	Neil Lynch	Thomas Lahetta
Gerald Cowie	Cindy Kurpely	Don Damyanic
James Wright	Rick Hutman	Dominic Ferritto
John Piwinski	Dorothy Collins	Rita Canfield
Ernest Hartman	James Woodrum	Louise Grose
Harris and Danie		

Howard Born

Also in Attendance:

Dennis O'Toole, Attorney John Kniepper, ALMU-Chief Utilities Executive Becky Haines, ALMU-Special Projects Administrator Robert Berner, Executive Director Helen Haddox, Office Manager

Approval of Minutes:

President McConnell stated that the minutes of the regular meeting held on May 13, 2010 had been mailed to all the trustees and called for any additions or corrections. Motion was made by Cindy Kurpely with a second by John Piwinski to approve the minutes as written. The motion was unanimously approved.

Old Business:

There was no old business to come before the board.

New Business:

President McConnell stated that he and Executive Director Berner have continued their visits to the member communities. They have visited Rochester, Carlisle, Elyria and Wellington Townships in the past month. The meetings have continued to be an interesting endeavor and a lot of good feedback has been received.

Members discussed a request from the State Auditor's office to amend the April 23, 2009 minutes to reflect the name of the board member who voted against awarding the construction contracts. It was moved by Ernest Hartman with a second by Rita Canfield to amend the minutes to reflect that Dennis Shumaker, alternate representative for Wellington Township, voted nay on Resolutions 2009-06, 2009-07, 2009-08, 2009-09, 2009-10 and 2009-11. The motion was unanimously approved.

Members discussed the manner in which non-majority votes should be recorded. It was moved by Howard Born with a second by Cindy Kurpely to amend the language in Bylaws, Article III – Section 7 to reflect that it is not a requirement to record the names of Members voting in the non-majority unless a roll call vote is called. The motion was approved. Neil Lynch abstained. The policy committee will discuss this recommendation at their next meeting.

Attorney O'Toole updated the members on the easement appropriations and the Environmental Review Appeals Commission hearing in July. He stated that Eaton Township had voluntarily dismissed their lawsuit.

RESOLUTION NO. 2010-08 for payment of payroll and bills was moved by Rita Canfield with a second by Ernest Hartman. The motion was unanimously approved.

RESOLUTION NO. 2010-09 authorizing the President of the Board and Executive Director to enter into and execute loan agreements with Lorain-Medina Rural Electric was moved by James Wright with a second by Thomas Lahetta. The motion was approved. Don Damyanic did not vote.

Policy Committee Chairman Lynch reported that a meeting had been held earlier in the evening to review the current rate structure. A rate study was presented to the committee by Rob Berner to review for equity issues. After considerable discussion, it was determined that Rob Berner will present the rate study to the Finance Committee for their evaluation.

Executive Director Berner updated the members on current efforts. Visits to the member communities will be completed with the upcoming meetings to Kipton and Rochester Villages. He reported on the April 27th meeting with Carlisle and Eaton Township residents and the Ohio Rural Water Association annual meeting in Columbus. He discussed the financial report, news articles and public information that was included in the board packets.

Mr. Berner reported that the financial statements and state audit have been completed. The language in the December 10, 2009 cooperative agreement with Avon Lake Municipal Utilities needs to be modified in order to move forward with operational financing through First Merit. Members reviewed the amended language. Neil Lynch moved to amend Section C of the agreement as presented with a second by Thomas Lahetta. The motion was approved. Don Damyanic did not vote.

Special Projects Administrator for Avon Lake Municipal Utilities, Becky Haines, gave an update on the Phase-I construction. Over 28 of the 36 miles of collection lines have been installed.

Ms. Haines stated that direct communication with Eaton Township trustees resumed once the lawsuit was dismissed. She reported on clean-up issues and shared preconstruction and restoration photos. Project signage with the ARRA insignia has been installed.

Other Business:

President McConnell opened the floor for questions or comments.

Carl Denk remarked on early tap purchases, status of developer taps, construction overruns and grinder pump installations.

Adjourn:

The Policy Committee will meet at the LORCO office on June 10, 2010 at 6:00 p.m. to discuss Bylaws, Article III – Section 7. The Finance Committee will meet at the LORCO office on June 10, 2010 at 6:00 p.m. to discuss the rate study information forthcoming from Executive Director Berner.

With no further business to come before the board, motion was made by Dominic Ferritto with a second by Cindy Kurpely to adjourn at 8:32 p.m. The motion was unanimously approved.

The board will meet again in regular session at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, June 10, 2010 at the LORCO offices located at 22898 West Road, Wellington, Ohio 44090.

President	Secretary-Treasurer