# MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING LORAIN COUNTY RURAL WASTEWATER DISTRICT March 8, 2018

#### Call to Order:

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Lorain County Rural Wastewater District was held at the LORCO offices, 22898 West Road, Wellington, Ohio. Board president Kurpely called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

## Swearing In:

New Wellington Township board member Michael Koch was sworn in by Executive Director Tov.

# Trustee Roll Call (by Executive Director Toy):

Will Schlechter	 Michael Koch		Neil Lynch	$\sqrt{}$
Doug Gardner	Karol Cornelius		Jim McConnell	$\sqrt{}$
Jerry Cowie	 Rick Hutman		Patti Brubaker	
Jed Lamb	 Cindy Kurpely		Del Roig	
Tom Steigerwald	Tom Lahetta (arr. @ 7:03)		Jim Wright (arr. @ 7:05)	
	Tom Berry		Jim Woodrum	$\sqrt{}$

#### Also in Attendance:

Eugene M. Toy, Executive Director

## Changes or Additions to the Agenda:

None

#### **Approval of Minutes:**

It was moved by Lamb, with a second by Roig to approve February 8, 2018 regular meeting minutes. Voice vote for approval was unanimous.

#### **Old Business:**

None

## **New Business:**

None

## **President's Report:**

Thanked board members for the card sent recently after the passing of her grandfather. Reminded board members that current three-year terms expire on March 27<sup>th</sup> for the villages of South Amherst, Kipton, and Rochester; Amherst Township; and Cinnamon Lake.

**RESOLUTION NO. 2018-6 Approval of non-LMRE & RLCWA-related February deposits and payments.** It was moved by Lahetta, with a second by McConnell to approve the resolution. Roig questioned the payment of property taxes to the Lorain County auditor. Executive Director Toy answered that Lorain County payment was for a storm water assessment and that exemption has recently been approved in Ashland County for property

formerly owned by Cinnamon Lake Utilities Association. The vote was as follows: 14 Yeas. 0 Nays. Motion carried.

**RESOLUTION NO. 2018-7 Approval of RLCWA-related February payments.** It was moved by Wright, with a second by Lahetta to approve the resolution. The vote was as follows: 12 Yeas. 0 Nays. Kurpely and Lamb abstained. Motion carried.

**RESOLUTION NO. 2018-8 Approval of LMRE-related February payments.** It was moved by Lamb, with a second by Schlechter to approve the resolution. The vote was as follows: 13 Yeas. 0 Nays. McConnell abstained. Motion carried.

**RESOLUTION NO. 2018-9 Approval of Operation, Maintenance, and Treatment Agreement with Village of West Salem.** It was moved by Berry, with a second by Lahetta to approve the resolution. Roig asked about rates and termination language in the draft version of the agreement that had been distributed to the board with board packets. Executive Director Toy explained that the draft agreement had been reviewed and modified by legal counsel and that new versions were at board seats. The vote was as follows: 14 Yeas. 0 Nays. Motion carried.

## **Executive Director Report:**

- 1. Attended 208 Plan Chapter 4 Update Focus Group meeting at NOACA in Cleveland on February 23<sup>rd</sup>.
- 2. Barrington Phase 8 PTI issued to North Grafton Realty on March 7<sup>th</sup>.
- 3. Will process a deferred debt payment sometime in March. Money was included in 2018 budget
- 4. Meeting March 13<sup>th</sup> with Makeever and Associates to look at some potential I&I sources in Cinnamon Lake and to consider pump replacements at a couple of lift stations.

#### Other Business:

Lynch made a motion to authorize Executive Director Toy to send letter of support to NOACA for proposed City of Elyria FPA change that was discussed at last month's meeting. Seconded by Lamb. Wright indicated that Carlisle Township was in agreement with the proposed FPA swaps. Voice vote was unanimous. Motion carried

## Adjourn:

With	no	further	business	to	come	before	the	Board,	а	motion	was	made	by	Lamb	and
seco	nde	d by Ko	ch to adjo	urn	the m	eeting a	ıt 7:2	25 pm a	nd	meet ag	gain c	n Thur	sda	ıy, Apri	l 12,
2018	at 7	7:00 pm	ı. Voice vo	te	to appr	ove wa	s un	animou	S.						

President	Secretary-Treasurer