MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING LORAIN COUNTY RURAL WASTEWATER DISTRICT MAY 12, 2016

Call to Order:

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Lorain County Rural Wastewater District was held at the LORCO offices, 22898 West Road, Wellington, Ohio. Board president Kurpely called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Following the Pledge, a moment of silence was observed for former board member Mary Beth Derikito.

Oath of Office to New Alternates and Members (by Executive Director Toy):

Oath of office was administered to Jed Lamb (Huntington Township) and Will Schlechter (Henrietta Township alternate)

Trustee Roll Call (by Secretary-Treasurer Lahetta):

Will Schlechter	 Bill Donges		Neil Lynch	$\sqrt{}$
Doug Gardner	Karol Cornelius		Jim McConnell	\checkmark
Jerry Cowie	Rick Hutman		Patti Brubaker	$\sqrt{}$
Jed Lamb	 Cindy Kurpely		Del Roig	$\sqrt{}$
Tom Steigerwald	 Tom Lahetta	V	Jim Wright	$\sqrt{}$
			Jim Woodrum	$\sqrt{}$

Also in Attendance:

Eugene M. Toy, Executive Director; Tom Berry and Tom Varner, Cinnamon Lake Utilities Association; Dennis Finkel, Huntington Township

Changes or Additions to the Agenda:

None

Approval of Minutes:

It was moved by McConnell, with a second by Lahetta to approve April 14, 2016 regular meeting minutes. Voice vote for approval was unanimous.

Old Business:

None

New Business:

President's Report:

Announced that former board member Mary Beth Derikito had passed away peacefully a little after 1 am this morning.

RESOLUTION NO. 2016-15 Approval of non-LMRE-related April deposits and payments. It was moved by Roig, with a second by Brubaker to approve the resolution. The vote was as follows: 14 Yeas. 0 Nays. Lamb abstained. Motion carried.

RESOLUTION NO. 2016-16 Approval of LMRE-related April deposits and payments. It was moved by Brubaker, with a second by Steigerwald to approve the resolution. The vote was as follows: 13 Yeas. 0 Nays. McConnell abstained. Motion carried.

Executive Director Report:

Other Business:

- Working with Avon Lake Regional Water staff to develop letter to be sent out to customers with secondary (deduct) water meters. Policy requires that these meters be calibrated by the customer at least every two years and that credits for outside usage can be claimed a maximum of two times (months) per year.
- Provided tap fee cost information to two proposed projects in Eaton Township Dollar General store on Royalton Road and a group home for adults with mental disabilities near the intersection of Royalton Road and Durkee Road.
- Reported on the progress of two Yost Construction projects Royalton Road and the Barrington subdivision near Grafton.
- Received another inquiry from a property owner interested in sewer service on Durkee Road north of Royalton Road. This portion of Durkee Road is currently in the City of Elyria's facility planning area. Avon Lake Regional Water engineering department is trying to develop a preliminary engineering design and cost estimate. This information will be reviewed prior to deciding on potential next step(s) including contacting the City of Elyria or the residents on North Durkee Road.
- Discussed a summary that was at board member seats. This summary is an overview of planning studies that were done by GRW Engineering in 1997, 2002 and 2007. These studies detail the original development of the LORCO project and its transformation over a period of time.
- Attended a May 1st (Sunday afternoon) an informational meeting at Cinnamon Lake hosted by the Cinnamon Lake Utilities Association board. Currently reviewing draft 2015 year-end financial information received from Cinnamon Lake and working on a draft agreement between LORCO and Cinnamon Lake using the 2010 RLCWA/Cinnamon Lake water agreement as a template. Introduced Cinnamon Lake board members in attendance who spoke briefly about the board's efforts to look for alternatives to their current methods of treating wastewater.

None	
	e before the Board, a motion was made by Steigerwald and seconded eting at 8:05 pm and meet again on Thursday, June 9, 2016 at 7:00 unanimous.
President	 Secretary-Treasurer