# MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING LORAIN COUNTY RURAL WASTEWATER DISTRICT November 11, 2010

# Call to Order:

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Lorain County Rural Wastewater District was held at 22898 West Road, Wellington, Ohio. President McConnell called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. with the pledge of allegiance and a moment to remember veterans.

# **Trustees in Attendance:**

Bob Meilander (A)

Secretary-Treasurer Lahetta called the roll with the following trustees shown in attendance:

Thomas Lahetta Rick Hutman Cindy Kurpely
Neil Lynch James McConnell Tom Steigerwald (A)
John Piwinski Ernie Hartman Rita Canfield
James Woodrum Louise Grose

Jason Richardson

## **Absent:**

James Wright, Howard Born, Gerald Cowie

### Also in Attendance:

Becky Haines, ALMU-Special Projects Administrator Robert Berner, Executive Director Dennis O'Toole, Legal Council

# **Approval of Minutes:**

President McConnell stated that the minutes of the regular meeting held on October 14, 2010 had been mailed to all the trustees and called for any additions or corrections. Motion was made by James Woodrum with a second by Ernie Hartman to approve the minutes as written. The motion was unanimously approved.

#### **Old Business:**

There was no Old Business to come before the board.

### **New Business:**

President McConnell – Thanked Mr. Lynch for filling in during the last board meeting. President McConnell discussed meetings with other communities which were attended by Director Berner and Mr. Lynch. President McConnell asked Mr. Lynch to elaborate on the meeting he attended in Columbia Township.

Mr. Lynch discussed attending meeting on November 1, 2010 at Columbia Township Hall. He spoke of the meeting being two fold. First, the trustees were concerned about the sanitary sewer rates increase being implemented by Northeast Ohio Regional Sewer District (NEORSD). Second, he discussed the concerns of the trustees concerning paying storm sewer fees for both NEORSD and Lorain County. He concluded by indicating the Columbia Township Trustees were going to request areas of Columbia Twp. not currently being served by NEORSD be removed from NEORSD and placed in the Lorain County Sewer District.

The legal report – Attorney O'Toole reported to the board the litigation related to the stop work order imposed by the City of Elyria on the LORCO/ALMU project. He introduced Resolution 2010-21 which is a hold harmless agreement with the City of Elyria.

RESOLUTION NO. 2010-21 a Hold Harmless Agreement with the City of Elyria was moved by Ernie Hartman a second by Louise Grose. The motion was unanimously approved.

RESOLUTION NO. 2010-20 for payment of payroll and bills was moved by Tom Steigerwald a second by Ernie Hartman. The motion was unanimously approved.

Motion to Affirm RESOLUTION NO. 2010-11 a Settlement Agreement with the City of Elyria was moved by Cindy Kurpley a second by John Piwinski. The motion was unanimously approved.

Executive Director Berner briefly discussed the financial statement and commented on refund of \$1000 to MDM Ventures. He also updated the board on the week spent in court resolving the City of Elyria issues. He informed the board of attending the LaGrange Township work session on November 1<sup>st</sup>. He updated the board on project development potential for the Village of Kipton. He also reminded the board of the December 9, 2010 board meeting being held at the East Carlisle Building and having a public hearing on the recommendations for the single rate plan. Finally, he thanked all the veterans for their services.

Becky Haines updated the board on Phase I. Fabrizi is working on St. Rt. 82 and will be starting contract 5B next week. UUI is substantially complete on contracts 1B and 2B. Dave Sugar will be on site next week on contract 5c. Elite is installing grinder pumps on Indian Hollow Rd. and the forced main. She also commented on the new office for ALMU to manage the LORCO project and discussed phone calls being made in Eaton Twp. from residents visited by COMET.

### **Other Business:**

President McConnell asked if there were any comments from the board.

There was none from the board or the public.

# Adjourn:

With no further business to come before the board, a motion was made by Cindy Kurpley with a second by Ernie Hartman to adjourn at 7:47 p.m. The motion was unanimously approved.

The board will meet again in regular session at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, December 9, 2010 at the East Carlisle Building, 1959 Grafton Road, Carlisle, Ohio.

President	Secretary-Treasurer