BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING LORAIN COUNTY RURAL WASTEWATER DISTRICT August 12, 2010

Call to Order:

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Lorain County Rural Wastewater District was held at the Lorain County Metroparks Offices, 12882 Diagonal Road, LaGrange, Ohio. President McConnell called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. with the pledge of allegiance.

Trustees in Attendance:

Secretary-Treasurer Lahetta called the roll with the following trustees shown in attendance:

James McConnell	Thomas Lahetta	Gerald Cowie
Cindy Kurpely	Neil Lynch	James Wright
Dominic Ferritto	John Piwinski	Howard Born

Mary Beth Derikito (A) Rita Canfield

Absent:

Rick Hutman Don Damyanic James Woodrum

Dorothy Collins Louise Grose

Also in Attendance:

John Kniepper, ALMU-Chief Utilities Executive Becky Haines, ALMU-Special Projects Administrator Robert Berner, Executive Director

Approval of Minutes:

President McConnell stated that the minutes of the regular meeting held on July 8, 2010 had been mailed to all the trustees and called for any additions or corrections. Motion was made by Howard Borne with a second by Tom Lahetta to approve the minutes as written. The motion was unanimously approved.

Old Business:

None.

New Business:

President McConnell gave a brief update on the Executive Committee Meeting and referenced their efforts concerning the financial planning. He indicated a recommendation would be forthcoming in September or October.

The legal report was given by Executive Director Berner who updated the board on the status of property taking litigation. All cases have been settled with a few settlement issues being worked out with parties prior to final ratification.

RESOLUTION NO. 2010-17 for payment of payroll and bills was moved by James Wright a second by Cindy Kurpely. The motion was unanimously approved.

Executive Director Berner briefly discussed the financial statement and commented no unexpected expenses for the month of July.

Executive Director Berner discussed the news articles and public information included in the board packets.

Executive Director Berner informed the board of the change to SB 110 made during the reconciliation with the Ohio House whereby the 300' requirement was reduced back to the original 200' requirement.

Executive Director discussed an issue on Parsons Road in the Phase I project. It was discovered the south side of Parsons Road is in LaGrange Township and not in the LORCO/ALMU Facility Planning Area. There were residents on the south side of Parsons Road objecting to the inclusion. Her further stated any change to the FPA would have to first be supported by the LaGrange Township trustees. There was further discussion on the situation with Rita Canfield expressing her appreciation for the information and recognizing several residents from Parsons Road in attendance at the meeting.

Other Business:

President McConnell asked if there were any comments from the audience. David Botus from Parsons Road discussed his concern with the use of grinder pumps on Parson Road and the use of a forced main. He felt this was not the best type of system and advocated if sewers were to be installed on Parsons Road he would prefer gravity sewers. There was discussion concerning grinder pumps and their history between Mr. Bogus and President McConnell.

Also in the audience was Gary Nagel who is building a house on Parsons Road and just finished installing a mound system. He expressed his concern over the confusion of whether the sewer was to be extended west to his property. Executive Director Berner indicated he would contact him the following day to discuss the situation.

A motion was made by Rita Canfield and seconded by Mary Beth Derikito to recess the meeting so the board could take a bus tour of the system. The motion passed unanimously and the board recessed at 7:10 pm.

Adjourn:

With no further business to come before the board, following the bus tour, a motion was made by Tom Lahetta with a second by John Piwinski to adjourn at 8:30 p.m. The motion was unanimously approved.

The board will meet again in regular session at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, September 9, 2010 at the LORCO Offices, 22898 West Road, Wellington, Ohio.

President	Secretary-Treasurer