# MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING LORAIN COUNTY RURAL WASTEWATER DISTRICT MARCH 11. 2010

# Call to Order:

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Lorain County Rural Wastewater District was held at the LORCO offices, 22898 West Road, Wellington, Ohio. President McConnell called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. with the pledge of allegiance.

# Oath of Office:

Attorney O'Toole administered the Oath of Office to Don Damyanic of Eaton Township. This term will expire on March 27, 2013.

# **Trustees in Attendance:**

Secretary-Treasurer Lahetta called the roll with the following trustees shown in attendance:

James McConnell	Neil Lynch	Thomas Lahetta
Gerald Cowie	Cindy Kurpely	Don Damyanic
Berry Taylor (A) (7:10)	Rick Hutman	Tom Steigerwald (A)
John Piwinski	Dorothy Collins	Ernest Hartman
James Woodrum	Howard Born	

# Also in Attendance:

Dennis O'Toole, Attorney Becky Haines, ALMU-Special Projects Administrator Robert Berner, Executive Director Helen Haddox, Office Manager

# **Approval of Minutes:**

President McConnell stated that the minutes of the regular meeting held on February 11, 2010 had been mailed to all the trustees and called for any additions or corrections. Motion was made by Ernest Hartman with a second by Tom Steigerwald to approve the minutes as written. The motion was unanimously approved.

#### Old Business:

There was no old business to come before the board.

# **New Business:**

President McConnell welcomed Eaton Township representative, Don Damyanic to the LORCO board. President McConnell informed the members that the committee assignments were included in their board packets.

President Mcconnell noted that the Eaton Township appointment was made after the committees were assigned. He asked Don Damyanic to contact him after the meeting to discuss his committee assignments.

The following committee assignments will be through March 31, 2011.

Executive Committee

James McConnell, Chairman Neil Lynch, Vice-Chair Thomas Lahetta James Wright John Piwinski Dorothy Collins Ernest Hartman Cindy Kurpely Finance Committee

John Piwinski, Chairman Dorothy Collins, Vice-Chair

Rita Canfield James Woodrum Howard Born

Policy Committee

Planning & Operations Committee

Ernest Hartman, Chairman
James Wright, Vice-Chair
Thomas Lahetta
Rick Hutman
Dominic Ferritto

Neil Lynch, Chairman Thomas Lahetta, Vice-Chair Gerald Cowie Louise Grose

Cindy Kurpely

Eugene Szczpanski (res participant)

There was no legal report given. Attorney O'Toole requested an executive session at the end of the meeting to discuss pending litigation.

**RESOLUTION NO. 2010-05** for payment of payroll and bills was moved by Berry Taylor with a second by James Woodrum. The motion was unanimously approved.

President McConnell reminded members of the educational training session scheduled for Thursday, April 1, 2010.

Policy Committee Chairman Lynch reported that a meeting had been held earlier in the evening to consider amendment of the LORCO Sewer Regulations Chapter III "Connections, Fees, Permits and Billings". Specific consideration focused on replacing paragraph 308-02, Table 3-1 "Schedule of Average Daily Gallonage" with a "Benefitted Unit Equivalency Factors" based upon the Ohio EPA's guidelines. The revision was reviewed last month. After a spirited discussion and change in language, the committee was prepared to make a recommendation to the board. The policy will be retyped to include the language change and presented to the full board for review at next month's meeting.

Chairman Lynch reported that the committee considered amendment to another section of Chapter III. Specific consideration focused on replacing paragraph 312.04 with language drafted by legal counsel. The policy addresses the District's legal right to collect past due amounts by certifying the unpaid balance to the auditor as a lien to be placed upon the property pursuant to O.R.C. § 6119.06(W). After full discussion and a minor change in the language, the committee was prepared to make a recommendation to the board. The policy will be retyped to include the language change and presented to the full board for review at next month's meeting.

Chairman Lynch presented Resolution 2010-06 to the board for approval. The resolution authorizes the assessment of delinquent amounts owed to the district to individual property taxes.

Motion was made by Howard Born with a second by Ernest Hartman to accept the Policy Committee's report. The motion was unanimously approved.

**RESOLUTION NO. 2010-06** authorizing the Assessment of Delinquent Amounts Owed to the District to Individual Property Taxes. Motion was made by Howard Born with a second by Thomas Lahetta. The motion was unanimously approved.

Executive Director Berner updated the members on current efforts. He is working on a feasibility plan to provide sewers to the areas of South Amherst and surrounding communities.

Executive Director Berner and President McConnell began visiting the member community's legislative meetings. They visited South Amherst Village, Grafton Township and Henrietta Township this week. The meetings are going well. The topics of discussion include LORCO's mission, goals, current status and future planning.

Executive Director Berner informed the members that he met with First Merit Bank and discussed LORCO's long term operational plans. First Merit was supportive of future operations.

Executive Director Berner discussed a report from the Lorain County Health Department concerning failing Home Sewage Treatment Systems. Two surveys were conducted in 2009. According to the Health Department's statistics, there is a 50% failure rate in Lorain County. Public education to the homeowners is needed in order to produce proper functionality of their treatment systems.

Special Projects Administrator for Avon Lake Municipal Utilities, Becky Haines, gave an update on the Phase-I construction. Over thirteen miles of pipeline is in the ground. Complaints regarding damaged mailboxes were reported to ALMU. As no crews were working in the area when the damage occurred, residents were instructed to contact the Sheriff's department. County Commissioners approved Eaton Township's request for a 25% freeze-thaw load limit on township roads. The load limit is effective February 1 – May 1, 2010. The reduced load limit will increase the cost of construction. Residents receiving dirt that change the elevation of their property are being referred to Nancy Funni at Lorain County Soil and Water District to determine if a permit is required.

# Other Business:

Before moving into executive session, President McConnell called for any other business to come before the board and asked the audience if they had any questions or remarks. None were presented.

# **Executive Session:**

It was moved by Berry Taylor with a second by Cindy Kurpely to move into executive session for discussion of pending litigation at 7:50 p.m. A roll call was taken and all members present at the regular meeting responded yea. Motion carried.

The members took a break until 8:05 p.m. and then went into executive session. The members reconvened into regular session at 9:15 p.m. All board members were present and no action was taken.

# Adjourn:

With no further business to come before the board, motion was made by Howard Born with a second by Berry Taylor to adjourn at 9:35 p.m. The motion was unanimously approved.

The board will meet again in regular session at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, April 8, 2010 at the LORCO offices located at 22898 West Road, Wellington, Ohio 44090.